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Virginia’s Sentencing Guidelines Are Historically Based. Unlike many other states, 
Virginia’s Guidelines are based on analysis of actual sentencing practices and are 
designed to provide judges with a benchmark that represents the typical, or average, 
case. The Sentencing Commission closely monitors the Guidelines system and, each 
year, deliberates upon possible modifications to enhance the usefulness of the 
Guidelines as a tool for judges. Recommendations for revisions to the Guidelines are 
based on the best fit of the available data. Moreover, recommendations are designed 
to closely match historical prison and jail incarceration rates. 
 
Process for Guidelines Revisions. Pursuant to § 17.1-806, any modifications adopted 
by the Commission must be presented in an annual report, due to the General 
Assembly each December 1. If the General Assembly takes no action, any 
recommendations for Guidelines revisions contained in the Commission’s annual 
report automatically take effect the following July 1. 
 
New Guidelines Offenses.  Beginning July 1, 2024, the following crimes will be covered 
by the Guidelines as the primary, or most serious, offense at sentencing: 
 
• Delivery of drugs to prisoner (§ 18.2-474.1) - Miscellaneous/Other worksheets; 
• Distribution, etc., of 10 grams or more of methamphetamine or 20 grams or 

more of a methamphetamine mixture (§ 18.2-248 (C,4)) - Drug Schedule I/II 
worksheets; 

• Violation of protective order, 3rd or subsequent offense, within 20 years                  
(§ 16.1-253.2(A)) - Miscellaneous/Person & Property worksheets; and 

• Conspire with another or assist in a larceny with an aggregate value of $1,000 
or more (§ 18.2-23(B)) – Larceny worksheets. 

 
New Ineligibility Condition for Risk Assessment. The Nonviolent Offender Risk 
Assessment is incorporated into the Guidelines for felony drug, fraud and larceny 
offenses. Beginning July 1, 2024, the Risk Assessment instrument will be amended to 
exclude from risk evaluation any defendants who commit one of these felonies while 
serving a state-responsible (prison) sentence. This change addresses a face validity 
issue in that defendants convicted of offenses committed while serving a state-prison 
term are not eligible for an alternative (community-based) sanction even if one is 
recommended via Risk Assessment, as they must still serve the remaining portion of 
their incarceration term. 
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Commission Is Assisting Localities in Identification of Unsubmitted Guidelines 

 
 
Recent Requests from Clerks 
 

At the request of two circuit court clerk’s offices, the 
Sentencing Commission recently assisted in a review of FY2022 
and FY2023 Sentencing Guidelines worksheets received by the 
Commission. The objective was to assist the localities in 
identifying Guidelines worksheets that 1) had not been 
prepared for the sentencing event, or 2) had not yet been 
submitted to the Commission. Staff worked with the clerks in 
those jurisdictions to support their efforts to identify and 
submit all Guidelines worksheets.  
 
Decline in Guidelines Worksheets Received 
 

Analysis of available data has revealed a substantial drop in the 
number of Guidelines worksheets received in recent years. 
Commission data indicate a marked decline in the number of 
Guidelines worksheets received during FY2020 through 
FY2022, which is consistent with trends in other areas of the 
criminal justice system during the height of the COVID-19 
pandemic. Data also indicate a significant decline in FY2023 
cases received compared to the previous fiscal year (see figure 
below). This is not consistent with many criminal system 
indicators, which began to increase post-COVID. Thus, the 
Commission explored the possible reasons for the decline in 
Guidelines worksheets in FY2023.  
 

Number of Guidelines Worksheets Received  
by the Sentencing Commission, FY2014-FY2023 

 
 
 
 
 

Judges Use of Automated or Paper Guidelines  
 

When judges use the Commission’s automated Guidelines 
system, known as SWIFT, to complete the disposition page and 
sign the Guidelines, the worksheets are sent automatically to 
the Commission. SWIFT is now fully integrated in the Judicial 
Information System (JIS).  
 
If a judge uses paper Guidelines, the clerk’s office must scan the 
Guidelines into the Clerks Information System (CIS), assign the 
scanned image to the correct file, and click the SEND TO VCSC 
button in CIS to submit the Guidelines worksheet to the 
Commission.1 This option first became available to all Circuit 
Court Clerks in 2020 and more Clerks’ offices have joined over 
time. One possible explanation for the drop in Guidelines 
worksheets may be that clerks in some cases inadvertently 
skipped the step of clicking the SEND TO VCSC button to submit 
the Guidelines. The Commission emphasized the importance of 
this step during the new Circuit Court Clerks orientation in 
February 2024. Recent training, however, does not address 
worksheets that may be missing from the historical data.  
 
Process to Identify Unsubmitted Guidelines  
 
In March 2024, the Commission approved a review of 
Guidelines worksheets received from circuit courts throughout 
the Commonwealth. Data from the Circuit Court Case 
Management System (CMS), provided by the Office of the 
Executive Secretary, was used to identify the total number of 
felony sentencing events in each circuit court. Commission staff 
compared these data to the Guidelines worksheets received 
from each court and identified the sentencing events for which 
no corresponding Guidelines worksheet was found in the 
Commission’s data system. This process revealed that 
Guidelines worksheets had not been received for up to 17% of 
the felony sentencing events in FY2022-FY2023.  
 
The Commission directed staff to provide a list of cases that 
could not be identified in the Commission’s system to each 
circuit court clerk and Commonwealth’s Attorney. Judges will 
also receive a copy of the list for their jurisdiction. Staff will send 
the lists, based on the most recent data available, in May 2024. 
 
 
 

NEW REVIEW OF SENTENCING GUIDELINES SUBMISSIONS  
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1 The other option, which most courts have moved away from, is submitting paper forms by mail. 
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Probation Violation Guidelines Provide Historically Based Recommendation 
 
 

Case Law and § 19.2-306.1.  Legislation adopted by the General 
Assembly in 2021 specified limits for periods of probation and 
supervision terms, defined technical violations of supervision, 
and established caps on sentences for certain technical 
violations (see House Bill 2038, Special Session I). 
 
Between June 2022 and April 2024, the Court of Appeals and 
Supreme Court of Virginia have issued opinions in 12 cases 
regarding the interpretation and application of § 19.2-306.1. 
Overviews of many of these cases can be found on the 
Sentencing Commission’s YouTube channel, located at 
https://youtu.be/WCLqliMZRfg. Case law continues to evolve. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

* Appealed to Supreme Court of Virginia  
 
Impact on Probation Violation Guidelines.  As of July 1, 2023, 
the Sentencing Revocation Report/Probation Violation 
Guidelines prepared for each hearing provide 1) information 
needed for the judge to determine if the statutory limits of                    
§ 19.2-306.1 apply, and 2) the historically-based sentence 
recommendation should the judge determine that the sentence 
for the violation is not restricted by statute. Historically-based 
Probation Violation Guidelines were developed from an analysis 
of judicial sentencing in revocation cases and were approved by 
the General Assembly in 2021. 

The judge must determine, based on statute and current case 
law, if the conduct alleged by the Probation Officer is defined 
by statute as a technical violation and if the limits of § 19.2-
306.1 apply. The probation officer is not required to interpret the 
statute or apply the most recent Court of Appeals or Supreme 
Court opinions. There is no need to delay the proceedings if the 
court decides that § 19.2-306.1 is not applicable. The historically-
based recommendation will be shown on the Sentencing 
Revocation Report (cover sheet), and the judge need only check 
the appropriate box based on his or her determination.  
 
Severing Violations into Separate Hearings. The Court of 
Appeals in Canales held that “the trial court did not exceed its 
statutory authority by conducting separate revocation 
hearings” for violations alleged in the Major Violation Report.  
The issue is now before the Virginia Supreme Court. The 
Sentencing Commission takes   no   position on this matter.   
If the court decides to sever the conditions violated into 
separate hearings, the Probation Violation Guidelines will 
reflect the same recommendation for each hearing and the 
court must decide if the § 19.2-306.1 restrictions apply or if 
the historically-based Guidelines are considered.  
 
Recording Good Behavior and Probation Supervision on the 
Disposition Page. After the Hamilton decision, judges have 
asked how to record multiple periods of probation and good 
behavior on the Sentencing Revocation Report’s Disposition 
Page. The Guidelines were designed to collect summary 
information on the sentencing event and not the sentence 
details for each offense conviction or count violated. The length 
of supervised probation and the period of good behavior entered 
on the Disposition Page are to reflect the sum of all or, if 
concurrent, the longest period ordered. There are boxes to check 
if the court imposes the statutory maximum allowed. The court 
order should contain the specifics related to each offense/count. 
 
Appointment of Counsel.  Since the enactment of § 19.2-306.1 
in 2021, the Virginia Court of Appeals has not decided a case 
in which the failure to appoint counsel for a previous 
probation violation was raised as an issue during a 
subsequent technical violation proceeding. Such a case may 
arise in the future. Failure to appoint counsel for a prior 
misdemeanor conviction that was later used as the basis to 
enhance the penalty for a subsequent offense was an issue 
argued in Sawyer v. Commonwealth, 43 Va. App. 42 (2004) 
and Webb v. Commonwealth, 17 Va. App. 188 (1993). 

PROBATION VIOLATIONS:  CASE LAW CONTINUES TO EVOLVE 

VIRGINIA SUPREME COURT (SCV) AND  
COURT OF APPEALS (CAV) OPINIONS RELATED TO 
VIOLATIONS & § 19.2-306.1 
 

SCV 
Hannah v. Commonwealth (4/18/2024) 
Delaune v. Commonwealth (12/14/2023) 
 

CAV 
* Hamilton v. Commonwealth (2/6/2024) 
* Nalls v. Commonwealth (2/6/2024) 
* Canales v. Commonwealth (9/5/2023) 

Burford v. Commonwealth (8/8/2023) 
Thomas v. Commonwealth (5/9/2023) 
Diaz-Urrutia v. Commonwealth (4/4/2023) 
Nottingham v. Commonwealth (3/21/2023) 
Henthorne v. Commonwealth (11/22/2022) 

* Heart v. Commonwealth (9/13/2022) 
Green v. Commonwealth (6/14/2022) 

https://youtu.be/WCLqliMZRfg
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Changes Become Effective on July 1, 2024 
 

 
 
The 2024 General Assembly passed legislation to change the 
name and eligibility criteria for Virginia’s Drug Treatment 
Courts. House Bill 292 and Senate Bill 725 rename the Drug 
Treatment Court Act as the Recovery Court Act and Drug 
Treatment Courts as Recovery Courts. Senate Bill 706 
modified the eligibility criteria for program participants. 
These changes will take effect on July 1, 2024 
 
Currently, a person is ineligible for participation in a Drug 
Treatment Court program if he has been convicted of a violent 
criminal offense, as defined in § 17.1-805 or 19.2-297.1, within 
the preceding 10 years, or juvenile offenders who previously 
have been adjudicated not innocent of any such offense within 
the preceding 10 years. Senate Bill 706 amends § 18.2-254.1    
and replaces the current restriction with a restriction on 
participation if any of the following conditions apply:  

1. The offender is presently charged with a felony 
offense or is convicted of a felony offense while 
participating in any drug treatment court where:   

(a) the offender carried, possessed, or used a firearm 
or any dangerous weapon during such offense; or  

(b) the death or serious bodily injury of any person 
occurred during such offense; or  

(c) the use of force against any other person besides 
the offender occurred during such offense; or  

 
2. The offender was previously convicted as an adult of 

any felony offense that involved the use of force or 
attempted use of force against any person with the 
intent to cause death or serious bodily injury. 

 

 

 
Defendants are often incarcerated for multiple offenses or 
probation violations in cases handled in different jurisdictions. 
In some cases, the court may be unaware of the amount of time 
the defendant was incarcerated for offenses or probation 
violations across jurisdictions or when the individual was 
released from confinement. Often, the court is unaware of the 
manner in which jails are applying credits for time served and to 
which offenses/violations the credits for time served are 
applied.  
 
Based on feedback from jail staff at a recent Local Inmate Data 
Systems (LIDS) Advisory Committee meeting, if a judge 
sentences a defendant or a probation violator to time served, 
but the judge does not specify the amount of time served or the 
underlying offenses (or counts) to which the time served should 
be applied, jail staff must make such determinations. This may 
affect the total amount of time an offender serves in that 
locality or others. Lack of specification in the court order 
requiring determinations be made by jail staff, who may not 
have detailed knowledge of the specific case, may impact the 
liberty of an individual and/or the safety of the community.  
 

 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 

 
At the LIDS Advisory Committee meeting, jail staff 
recommended that courts determine with specificity the 
amount of time served before (or at) sentencing and 
document that time in the court order. Alternatively, courts 
may order a sentence without reference to the time already 
served and jail staff will calculate the amount of time served 
to apply. Jail staff stressed the importance of specifying in the 
order the underlying offenses (or counts) to which the time 
served should be applied. This will ensure that jails are 
applying the credits as envisioned by the court and allow for 
easier application of time served credits in the future should 
the offender return to court for additional violations. 
 
 

GENERAL ASSEMBLY CHANGES NAME AND ELIGIBLITY CRITERIA  
FOR DRUG TREATMENT COURT 

FEEDBACK FROM THE JAILS:  SENTENCES TO TIME SERVED 
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Information on Pretrial System Outcomes Now Available 
 

 
Background 
 
Virginia’s Pretrial Data Project was established in 2018 under 
the direction of the Virginia State Crime Commission as part of 
the Crime Commission’s broader study of the pretrial system 
in the Commonwealth. The purpose of the Project was to 
address the significant lack of data available to answer key 
questions regarding the pretrial process in Virginia. The Project 
was an unprecedented, collaborative effort between 
numerous state and local agencies representing all three 
branches of government. The Sentencing Commission was 
called upon to provide technical assistance for the Project. The 
work was well-received by lawmakers and the 2021 General 
Assembly passed legislation, now codified in § 19.2-134.1, 
directing the Sentencing Commission to continue this work on 
an annual basis. Virginia’s Pretrial Data Project serves as a 
valuable resource for policy makers, practitioners, and 
researchers. 
 
For the newest pretrial study, the Commission selected 
individuals with pretrial contact events during CY2019 and 
CY2020. For individuals with more than one contact event 
during the period, only the first event was selected. Individuals 
are tracked for a minimum of 15 months. Data for the Project 
was obtained from multiple agencies. Compiling the data 
requires numerous iterations of data cleaning, merging, and 
matching to ensure accuracy when linking information from 
each data system to each defendant in the cohort. This study 
focused on the 89,433 adult defendants in CY2019 and 73,537 
adult defendants in CY2020 whose contact event included a 
criminal offense punishable by incarceration where a bail 
determination was made by a judicial officer. 
 

Selected Findings.  
 

• Throughout CY2018-CY2020, the vast majority of 
defendants were ultimately released from custody 
during the pretrial period. During the three-year period, 
pretrial release rates increased slightly, from 86.8% in 
CY2018 to 87.7% in CY2019 and 89.5% in CY2020. 

• Over half of the defendants each year were released 
on a personal recognizance or unsecured bond. The 
percentage released on personal or unsecured bond 
increased from 51.5% in CY2018 to 57.5% in CY2020. 

• Controlling for offense seriousness (felony or 
misdemeanor) and nature of the offense (violent or 
nonviolent), females were more likely to be released 
pretrial than males and Whites were more likely to be 
released than Blacks. Non-indigent defendants were 
more likely to be released pretrial than defendants 
categorized as indigent. 

• Secured bond amounts at the time of release generally 
did not vary widely across sex, race, age, indigency 
status, or year of release.  

• The majority of released defendants were not charged 
with failure to appear at court proceedings for the 
offense(s) in the contact event. Similarly, the majority 
of released defendants were not arrested during the 
pretrial period for an in-state offense punishable by 
incarceration. However, the failure-to-appear rate 
increased from 12.4% in CY2018 to 16.2% in CY2020, 
while the new-arrest rate increased from 22.4% in 
CY2018 to 23.5% in CY2020 (see figure below). 

 
 
 
 
 
 
The full report, entitled 
Virginia Pretrial Data Project: 
Findings from the 2019 and 
2020 Cohorts, can be found 
on the Commission’s website 
at http://www.vcsc.virginia. 
gov/pretrialdataproject.html  
 

VIRGINIA’S PRETRIAL DATA PROJECT  
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On a limited basis and subject to the availability of funds, 
the Sentencing Commission offers fee waivers for private 
attorneys. Applications for fee waivers are evaluated based 
on the percentage of the attorney's practice focusing on 
indigent defense cases and financial need (especially for 
new or solo practitioners). To submit an application, go to 
http://www.vcsc.virginia.gov/training.html. 

 
Fees are always waived for Commonwealth's Attorneys,  

Public Defenders, and Probation and Parole Staff 
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